Growing Writers

By IYWP Mentor at Longfellow Elementary Taryen Lannutti

What would you do if you ran into a clone of yourself on the street? Could you even imagine that? Eliza, an avid writing club member pondered this thought, and the result was something special.My favorite part of writing club is getting to watch the young writers grow. Every single student’s writing develops in a remarkable way from their time with the IYWP and Eliza’s story is a great example of that.

My name is Alina, I am ten years old and I have an ordinary, boring life. Until something happened to spice it up! So, I was walking home from school when I reached 7th avenue. I bumped into… myself? “Hey watch where you are goo…. Wow you look really familiar.” I said. She just started at me. It was beginning to get kind of creepy. So, I just walking quickly in the opposite direction she was in. I decided to take the long way home. Don’t judge me I was a little afraid she might start following me. When I started to get close to my house I started thinking that the girl who looked exactly like me… could actually be me? We looked just like identical twins, only more than identical. I looked on the internet and searched this crazy question, “is it possible to have a clone of yourself?” After my research I found my answer “IMPOSSIBLE.” Are you kidding me? I was getting nervous, until I found tiny print on one page. “There is a one percent page chance of this occurring.” That made me feel better.

I decided to tell my science nerd sister.

“mhmmm, oh I see, okay….” She replied. “Hand me some of your hair.”

“What?! Why?” I asked

“Duh, because I have to test it…”

“um… okay?” She’s weird.

“I have a mission for you, “she said.

“Let me guess, you want me to get her hair?” I asked

“Exactly.” She answered

“Called it.” I whispered to myself.

I left my house with scissors and a zip lock bag determined to find her.

TO BE CONTINUED

In case you were worried, don’t. I will keep you updated on Eliza’s ongoing story as it develops.

 

Leave a Reply

